Amiga 600 Modding – Part I

I recently dug up my Amiga 600 (PAL) and I haven’t been able to stop playing ever since. One thing that always bothered me was that it did not fit anywhere on my stereo-/tv-bench and the cabling was a mess (especially that huge-ass power brick), so I decided to make a custom casing for it along with some other modifications.

Installing a CF-Card reader as Hard-Drive:

Bought a generic non-brand CF-Card to IDE adpater on Ebay. Installed without problems and is working great.

I currently use the Kickstart 2.x ROM, and the rumors about the drive size being limited to 40M on this revision is false. I currently use a 512MB card partitioned into two partitions (128M System:, rest is Data:).

 

I’ll cover the installation of Workbench in another part when my new Kickstart 3.x rom has arrived. This part will also cover how to connect your Amiga to a PC via serial and transfer files etc.

 

In the next part I’ll cover installation of new Kickstart ROM along with latest updates.

Extending Floppy drive cables:

I just used an old floppy drive cable and soldered two power connectors together.

Extending LED indicator wires:

I cut the Floppy molex-plug off an an old power-supply and soldered it to the LED board.

Extending Game-ports:

I had a bunch of Serial cable-extensions laying around, so I just cut out the 9-pin sockets and soldered them together with IDE ribbon-cable wiring.

Using an ATX Power supply:

I got my power supply from an old Dell low-end desktop computer. This one was about the the same length as the motherboard, so it fits perfectly.

More information on using ATX power-supplies here.

Power connector:

Amiga RED    (+5V)  -> ATX RED
Amiga BLACK  (GND)  -> ATX BLACK
Amiga BROWN  (+12V) -> ATX YELLOW
Amiga WHITE  (-12V) -> ATX BLUE
Amiga YELLOW (+5V?) -> IGNORE
Amiga SHIELD        -- Goes to the Amiga metal-shielding (Currently not used)

This was connected directly to the ATX 20-pin plug with wires from and old 20-pin extension. Heat-shrink tubing was used to eliminate any shorts between the pins (Wires are packed very tightly).

Power switch:

ATX Power-on switch is connected between ATX GREEN (PWR) and ATX BLACK (GND). I’ll add an additional power-switch to the front-panel later.

Casing:

A simple wooden case (without front or back for now) measuring 220mm deep, 140mm high and 390mm wide. The two sides are glued and nailed to the bottom plate. The top plate will have screws to hold it down.

In the next part I’ll be finishing up the front- and back panels. The left plate also needs some work done, because I’ts currently blocking the PCMCIA port.

Assembly:

I placed some furniture leg protection (round fabric discs with sticky-tape on the back) on the bottom of the Amiga motherboard shield to make a small gap between the motherboard and the bottom of the case. This is required if I’m to install en extension board.

The ATX power-supply is mounted in the top-plate of the case. For now I’ve also fastened the Floppy-drive to the top.

Gallery:

Here are some photos I took. The monitor used is a part of an old in-car media system that I salvaged. It’s connected to the power supply via 12V.

About this entry